CARDS AND RULES
In Fate Foretold, your fate will largely be determined by the cards you play. However, you are subject a few Fundamentals Rules of Fate.
Rule 1: Cards Trump Rules
- Follow the rules as written unless a card says otherwise. If a card contradicts the rules, follow the card.
Rule 2: Play Means Play
- In Fate Foretold, you only play a card from your hand. If a card enters play for any other reason, other than when you play the card as part of Step 3, "when you play" effects do not happen.
Rule 3: Fates Never Fade
- Move any card that leaves play or your hand to the bottom of the nest, unless a card says otherwise. Unlike many games, there is no "discard pile" in Fate Foretold. Any fate can come to fruition.
Rule 4: Gameplay
- On your turn, you must either draw 1 card and play 1 card or draw 2 cards.
Rule 5: End of Turn
- At the end of your turn, you may only keep 5 non-sigil cards in play and 5 cards in your hand. Bury the rest one at a time, then discard the rest one at a time.
Rule 6: Convergence of Fates
- One player aligns with a suit by possessing five cards of that suit at once (possibly including their sigil)
. That player's Fate is then Foretold, when they play a final card of the same suit. That player wins the game.
Rule 7: Apocalypse
- The end of all things. If a single player controls all Four Horses of the Apocalypse (War, Famine, Pestilence, and Death) at the end of their turn, all players lose the game and there is no winner.
Rule 8: Contradictions
- If two cards contradict one another, the card that says "can't" (stops an effect)
always overrides the card that says "can"(creates an effect)
. If part of a card's effect is stopped by another card, the rest of the card's effect happens as normal.
Individual Card Rulings
1: If the Aegis would be destroyed at the same time as the card it is protecting, the card it is protecting is not destroyed.
2: When The Aegis
leaves the field, the token it created also leaves.
Aries, the Ram
triggers once at the end of the turn, so if you draw cards after discarding down to three (such as with Pisces on the field)
does not trigger a second time and make you discard additionally.
Cancer, the Crab
1: 3 is not more than 3.
Capricorn, the Goat
1: An example of this is the The Angel
putting itself onto a field from a player's hand. Instead, it would be placed on the bottom of the nest.
1: The player who plays the Dancer may pick the method by which the random player is chosen. We suggest rolling a D6.
1: When The Doppelganger
leaves the field, the token it created also leaves.
Death, the Pale Horse
1: A player with cards on their field that cannot be buried (such as a card protected by The Aegis, or Virgo)
is not required to choose them to keep as part of Death's ability. Then, when Death's ability tries to bury any of the cards that cannot be buried, it will fail, and the player will end up with more than 3 cards on their field. Lucky them.
2: If a player controls Taurus, the Bull
is played, the player controlling Taurus
can't choose any of their constellation cards to keep, possibly leading to them keeping less than 3 cards.
The Eye of the Void
1: The Eye of the Void is also the chosen suit.
1: Use of ESP isn't technically cheating.
2: Due to a printing error, The Insight
should read "another player". You may not choose yourself as the target for this effect.
Libra, the Justicar
does not trigger if it is buried at the same time as other cards, such as due to the effect of a card like Death
or The Calamity.
1: If control of The Lovers
changes by being taken or traded, the player chosen when the card was first played stays the same. So yes, there are instances when you can be in love with yourself.
2: If the player chosen by The Lovers is also the controller of The Lovers
, it does not loop infinitely, and instead only triggers once in the same way two players in love don't draw back-and-forth. Essentially, they will draw two cards for every one they would normally draw, and discard two for every one they would normally discard.
3: If players have to discard or draw cards due to a symmetrical effect such as Aries
, the players in love will discard/draw to that effect first, then the Lovers will trigger and make them discard/draw based on what the other player did.
1: The Musician does not trigger when not in play, so if a player buries the Musician, it will not trigger and no card will be put into play.The Ouroboros
1: If an effect prevents you from drawing cards, you still have to discard your hand.
Pestilence, the Black Horse
1: If Pestilence
is the first card you play on an otherwise empty field, it will be the only card you can choose to bury, so it's probably not a good idea unless you really hate having cards.
The Sacred Darkness
1: Players may put their cards face-down in whatever order they wish, but it must be done in a timely manner.
2: Players may not take notes of what cards are in their hand or where.
3: If a card, such as The Radiant
asks you to choose cards in your hand of a specific nature and you cannot because your hand is face-down, the number of cards you can choose is therefore 0.
4: The Sacred Darkness
does not stop cards from being revealed when another card tells a player to look at a card in a specific place (such as the top of the nest, in a player's hand, etc.)
5: If a player controls The Harvest
, that player may reveal the card they draw to all players in order to check if the ability triggers, and then put face-down as it enters their hand. This is because of rule 4.
6: If an effect causes a player to choose cards from their hand, such as The Transcended
, while The Sacred Darkness
is in play, that player may not look at the cards in their hand when choosing what to discard. If a player chooses cards incorrectly to discard (such as choosing a non-body card with The Transcended)
those cards are still discarded, but the benefit of the discard is not applied.
Sagittarius, the Archer
1: Sagittarius will not trigger its own ability when it comes into play, and its owner does not draw a card. This is because Sagittarius has to be on a field for its ability to trigger, and a card cannot both be on a field and be in the act of being played at the same time.
Scorpio, the Scorpion
1: If a player is already in convergence and aligned to the Mind suit, they will not leave convergence, even if Scorpio is active.
1: You can't trade your cards, even if you want to. You built this tower, after all.
2: If a player plays a card like The Wheel of Fortune
where players trade hands, you are skipped over and the trading otherwise continues as normal.
3: If you cannot fullfill your half of a trade because of The Tower
, the entire trade does not happen.
The Third Eye
1: Yes, you can choose to read your own mind.
1: If there are less than two cards in the nest and somehow you don't reveal The Wanderer
, yes, you draw just one card.
1: If The Witch
is the only card on your field as you play it, it has no effect as you cannot obey the rules of its ability.
1: If you speak, the card has no effect.
2: If you draw your card for the turn, the effect is considered skipped.